Bendigo and region

Gastronomy Guide

What is the City of Gastronomy?

The designation of Bendigo as a UNESCO Creative City of Gastronomy in 2019 recognises our region’s diverse food culture, and a community commitment to high quality, sustainable, local produce. The designation was developed with four pillars at its heart:

The City of Gastronomy region aims to:

  • Celebrate and elevate First Nations’ culture, creativity and knowledge.
  • Recognise and celebrate creativity, cultural diversity and innovation.
  • Improve the health and wellbeing of our community.
  • Prioritise environmental sustainability in all aspects of food production and preparation as we tackle climate change.

What is the Gastronomy Guide?

The City of Greater Bendigo, together with Bendigo Regional Tourism has developed the online Gastronomy Guide to celebrate the diversity of food and beverage businesses within the City and Region of Gastronomy. The Gastronomy Guide is designed to connect the consumer to local food and beverage experiences, and inspire a thriving local and visitor economy based on culinary delights. Gastronomy is defined as the production, preparation and consumption of quality food and beverages, and celebrating the history and culture represented by foods from different regions.

The Gastronomy Guide aims to connect you to the origin of your produce, and will ensure that planning your next trip will be a breeze. Do you need a lazy Sunday shopping in the sunshine at the local farmers market? Are you planning a weekend away with friends sampling wineries in the Heathcote region? Or perhaps you need a family friendly trip sampling the fine restaurants in the region.

Enjoy browsing through the plethora of businesses and experiences displayed in the Gastronomy Guide and plan a visit for yourself. Our businesses are waiting to meet you!

Eligibility Criteria

To participate in the Bendigo and Region Gastronomy Guide, businesses should
demonstrate a commitment to upholding and promoting the values of the City and
Region of Gastronomy. The City and Region of Gastronomy was awarded based on
four pillars, which form the basis of the criteria outlined in the Edibility Criteria document.

You can read the Eligibility Criteria and check if your business is eligible HERE

Who are we?

The City of Gastronomy Region includes 9 local Shire Councils throughout Central Victoria. These are: Buloke Shire, Campaspe Shire, Central Goldfields Shire, Gannewarra Shire, Hepburn Shire, Loddon Shire, Macedon Ranges Shire, Mount Alexander Shire and The City of Greater Bendigo.

Currently the Gastronomy Guide covers the 4 Shires of the Bendigo Region; City of Greater Bendigo, Mount Alexander, Central Goldfields and Loddon Shire. There are plans to expand into the surrounding Shires.

Getting to our Region

Many of the key destinations across the Bendigo Region are accessible via car, train and bus. Bendigo is even now accessible via plane through QantasLink. To find out more about travel to and throughout the Bendigo Region, please click here.

Contact us

[ninja_form id=”2″]